2 Things I Tried in 2016 That I Won’t Do in 2017

2016 brought a career change: freelancing. One of the joys I get from freelancing is trying new things. Seeing what works and what doesn’t. Pretty much the second half of 2016 was trying new things. There were a couple that I have decided just are not the right route or not for me.

officewall
My office “inspiration” wall.

First, I tried contacting businesses that started following me on Instagram (tbudco) or had liked a few of my pictures. I figured they noticed me and I’d reach out and offer my copywriting services. This took a lot of time, because I would go to their Instagram account, see what they did, find their URL and become familiar with their offerings. Then, I’d track down an email address and send them a note complementing their work and explaining what I did.

I contacted 6 different businesses in this manner. I received a response from most of them. They were friendly, but the amount of time I was taking to personalize my emails was detracting from other tasks. Also, I noticed that some accounts will like my last 3 pictures and then nothing more. Sometimes I get follows from accounts that are selling insulated cups? I have no clue. Anyway, it just takes too much time to sort out the genuine interest and research. That’s not to say I won’t completely ditch this idea. I just may wait until I know I someone is following/liking/commenting because they’re interested in copywriting. (I have been posting more about writing since I’ve started freelancing.)

The other thing? Selling stuff on eBay. This was supposed to be a “just for fun” kind of thing. I knew that freelancing would be slow at times and I thought this would be a cool way to fill the free time while earning a buck or two.

Shipping is a mess that I don’t have the disposition to figure out. First off, I was trying to sell low-end stuff: clothes I had, cool dishware, etc.. So, the margins were kind of low. Trying to figure out what size boxes I needed and how to ship was just beyond me and I’m sure the cost of shipping just didn’t make purchasing my items worth it. Also, taking decent photos is not my forte.

I still have everything that I was trying to sell (which, thankfully, was only about 8 items). I’ll keep the dishware because I love it. But, I also have a set of 4 Orla Kiely for Target place mats that I kind of dig, but am willing to part with…send me an offer! Ha!

img_3316
Want them? Send me an offer!

What can I say? Live and learn! And, it’s nice to get these two ideas crossed off my “to try” list.

Leave a Reply

