Giving Tuesday

Hashtag Giving Tuesday is quite possibly the only day I want to participate in during the slew of “days” after Thanksgiving. Black Friday? No thanks, I was on the other side of the counter for a few of those and have no desire to switch sides. Small Business Saturday? Okay, but I’ll try to shop with them on other days, too. Cyber Monday? I was on the other side of the computer for those a few years, too. Giving Tuesday? Count me in!

This year, I made today a reason to give. I took the amount I had to donate and parceled it out to some organizations and causes I believe in.

Girls on the Run of Greater Cincinnati: They are a great organization doing very important work in the community and making a positive impact. I’ve also volunteered with them off and on since 2011. (They make volunteering a breeze, if you’re interested in helping.)

NEST Community Learning Center: This is a relatively new organization in my own backyard. They provide “sound nutrition and targeted education in a safe neighborhood environment that will transform the outcome of at-risk school-age children.” Supporting that is a no-brainer.

Planned Parenthood Southwest Ohio Region: This organization provides “a wide range of reproductive health care services” and I think that’s pretty important. I once was a full-time student, employed part-time and without health insurance.

Ohio Alleycat Resource & Spay/Neuter Clinic: I adopted my former cat, Corey, from OAR, so this organization has a special place in my heart. They work hard to spay and neuter cats and keep the cat population under control. (If you have a garden and have cats that roam the neighborhood, you know this is important. No one likes cats using their garden beds as a litter box. Yick.)

March of Dimes: I donated to them on World Prematurity Day so that my donation would be matched. My son was born 8 weeks early and while he didn’t have any major setbacks, my eyes were opened to this issue.

Admittedly, I didn’t give each organization much. But, I keep reminding myself that just because my donation isn’t an amazing amount, it shouldn’t stop me from giving. And, it shouldn’t stop you either, whether you plan to give today, tomorrow or have already done so.

Leave a Reply

