The 2016 IKEA Catalog

It’s here! It’s here! Okay, it was here. I received my IKEA catalog in the mail a couple of weeks ago–and now it’s probably at the bottom of the pile that is my kitchen table, because the recycling bin is only 2 feet away, yet so, so far.

I love a good catalog. As demonstrated here and here and here. So, why don’t we look through the IKEA one together. It’ll be fun!

IMG_4651

“Consumers vs. People.” Meh. This is marketing speak. Maybe customers and consumers prefer to be called “people,” but let’s face it, we know they’re people.

IMG_4652

Oh my goodness. I cannot take this. Really? This is your opener? Let’s look up “expectation.” Hmmm… Okay, now let’s take a look at “anticipation.” Ah. So I think their first two examples of “expectations,” the party and vacation, are really examples of anticipation: sweet, sweet excitement. The home expectations are truly expectations: a feeling about how successful or good something is going to be. (Hey, aren’t we all expected to have a spotless, well-organized home and cook dinner every night? And we seem to fall short of those expectations…or maybe it’s just me.) The pre-feelings about the party and vacation could be expectations, too, and end up the same way: your friend forgot the dip and it rained the entire week you were at the beach. But what they’re referring to is that happy excitement anticipating a fun event. It’s like IKEA was stretching their idea a little too hard and far.

Then I thought, well, they are a Swedish company, right? Maybe something got lost in translation. Alas, they hire American copywriters:

IMG_4669

This, by the way has to be the most meta thing I’ve ever seen: Copy about a copywriter. Or, the new word these days: content about a copywriter, wait, metacontent?

This year, it seems like they stepped up their content game. There’s an article every few pages.

IMG_4667IMG_4663

Along with the usual catalog-style copy that hit on some good insights.

IMG_4654IMG_4655

(My whole dining room table needs to be one big tray.)

IMG_4666

This one made me sad, though. Awww, aren’t we supposed to be encouraging outdoor play?

There are little things I noticed, too. Like this:

IMG_4656

Is that a legit man bun or just a fluffy pony tail? I haven’t been able to sleep because I keep trying to figure this out.

IMG_4653

Standing desks are so hot right now. So on-trend.

IMG_4668

Sharp thinking, yes. Okay. Sliced carrot shadow! Wait! What are my eyes seeing?!?

Finally, my absolutely favorite thing about the IKEA catalog: leaf peeping. (I have a secret passion for houseplants.)

IMG_4665
In order to envision myself here, I have to ignore the fact that my feet would fall asleep and my tailbone would start to ache after 15 minutes. But, that tall, draping plant? Count me in!
IMG_4662
Do you make lemonade here? With all these plants? I don’t care. I want to do it.
IMG_4671
It’d be like showering in the jungle. Or, at least a greenhouse. I’ll take it.
IMG_4674
I love this, but I just have visions of cats and small children knocking everything over.
IMG_4672
Monstera plants are so hot right now. So on-trend.
IMG_4670
I spotted the cacti first and then I noticed the blurry leaf in the foreground. Very sneaky, IKEA, playing with my eye like that.

There you have it. Now I have to unearth the catalog and put it in the recycle bin.

Leave a Reply

