Right Now at Combs Canyon

I’d like to report the months of June and July missing. I know we’re still in July, but so much of it’s gone and I don’t know where to. I guess summer likes to speed by.

There’s been so much rain this summer that only once has our rain barrel run dry. This is not only because the rain keeps it full, but because when it rains, we don’t have to water the garden as much. Go figure. It’s hard for me to say we’ve gotten too much rain, because I don’t want to be in a drought. But, I think the copious amount of precipitation did my zucchini plants in. They simply rotted away. I’ll just have to make it a priority to buy some at farmer’s markets. (Especially since last year I found a double chocolate zucchini bread recipe that I really want to make again.)

Our other veggies have done well, though. Let’s take a look around Combs Canyon, shall we?

July_26_13_04
The garden from afar. Those Earthtainers are the best. Our tomato plants get so bushy and produce more fruits than the plants in the raised beds. I think next year 100% of our tomatoes will be in Earthtainers.

July_26_13_05
Okra in the back. Basil in the middle. Pickling cucumbers in the front. We’ve gotten a lot of cukes this year. It really paid off putting in more plants than last year.

July_26_13_03
I don’t like to fight Nature. So, when I noticed a pickling cucumber vine taking hold around one of my okra plants, I went with it and set the vine onto a nearby okra plant for more stability. So far so go. Plus, dangling cukes are easier to spot than ones on the ground obscured by leaves.

So, a few weeks ago, a deer or two thought our garden was a salad bar. They ate the very first of our cherry tomatoes that started to turn red. They also nibbled the leaves of my pickling cucumbers. (Fun fact, the pickling cucumbers themselves are actually kind of prickly. You have to rub off these little “spikes” before eating and deer can’t do that, so they leave the cukes themselves alone.) Last year, I had hung some car air fresheners around the garden and the animals seemed to leave it alone. My husband confirmed this method with some Internet research and we bought a mess of those Magic Tree air fresheners. You know what I’m talking about. Seriously, the deer haven’t come back. Talk about a cheap and easy solution.

July_26_13_06
We just picked these today. There’s nothing like throwing a few fresh-from-the-garden tomatoes into your dinner salad. (Or snacking on them!)

July_26_13_01
Because Combs Canyon is only in it’s second year, we have to go elsewhere for other produce. One Saturday morning, we got up early (for a weekend) and picked blueberries for 2 hours. There’s about 24 pounds here.

We got those blueberries from Rouster’s. Quite possibly the best reason to get up early on a Saturday.

July_26_13_02
The next morning I made blueberry waffles. How could I resist? I have plans for muffins and a crisp or two. And, maybe I’ll try my hand at new recipe or two.

Enjoy the weekend, folks!

Leave a Reply

