Thirty Before 30 Update: Number 25

30 Before 30 List
The Final Thirty Before 30 List

25. Purchase a secondhand outfit: So, I made a valiant effort to accomplish this goal: I purchased a pair of lime-colored cropped pants, a velveteen blazer and a Lands’ End raincoat. The pants do not fit. The blazer just isn’t right. And, I haven’t had the occasion yet to wear the raincoat. While I would love to try harder to make this goal work, I just don’t think it’s right for me.

What I do find myself purchasing secondhand is home goods. (Usually, from Goodwill.) I buy teacups for plants, bowls (I even purchased 2-3 thrift store bowls when I first got to Atlanta and then ended up donating them right back when I hit the road!) and pictures–either for the frames or for the image itself.

For example, here are two small original oil paintings I snagged a few months ago:

TCarson
Signed T. Carson

 

Viola
Signed VIOLA

I have no idea who T. Carson or VIOLA are or if these are amateur or well-known artists. I just dig the texture of the oil paint and the “je ne sais quois” Frenchy quality. I don’t think I paid more than $20 for the pair. A way better deal than buying art firsthand that is probably in your neighbor’s house, too.

So, while I didn’t quite reach the “clothing” part of this goal, I did accomplish the “secondhand” part of it. And, it’s not a one-and-done kind of thing. I’ll continue to look for interesting stuff to add to my home.

Oh, and while we’re talking of thrift shops, I’m sure you’ve heard or seen this.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Thirty Before 30 Update: Number 25

  1. Pingback: On Sundays, I Write Letters | Theresa Budnik Combs

Leave a Reply

