Thirty Before 30 Update: Number 9

30 Before 30 List
The Final Thirty Before 30 List

9. Take a yoga class:  Last Tuesday, I did it. I headed out at the ridiculous hour of 7:00 in the evening to my gym and attended the only yoga class that I can make due to my work schedule. (Apparently doing yoga at 9:30am during the week is a trend.)

Now, I’ve only done what I call “living room yoga”–I open my yoga how-to book, spread out my mat in an open area of my house (the living room works) and do some poses. The instructor at this class kept things moving fast. I didn’t have time to really observe what was required of the pose before I started. (Add some peer pressure to that, too. You don’t want to be the only ding dong who’s not doing what they’re supposed to.) Also, it was like a game of Twister sans the colorful mat: put your left hand here while doing this with your right foot. Full disclosure: I’m horrible at keeping my left and right straight. Same with east and west. I’m stellar at knowing what’s up and down, north and south, though. So, it was hard, but the hour was over quickly.

In the afternoon of the day after, as with most new exercises, I started to feel soreness creep up into my shoulders. And, then a horrendous kink-in-my-neck feeling, except it was deep in my back. It made breathing deeply uncomfortable. But, is this really any surprise? Here’s a New York Times article from almost a year ago that explores the harms of yoga. I just may fall into the camp of people who should stay away.

But, all was not lost. I may go again (perhaps the weird soreness was a one-off experience) or if I never return, I just may start doing my living room yoga again (that never resulted in more-uncomfortable-than-usual soreness). Or, I just may go to a different class–try Pilates or, better yet, water aerobics.

3 thoughts on “Thirty Before 30 Update: Number 9

  1. Alice

    It’s my experience that yoga classes at gyms aren’t as good as yoga classes at yoga studios. Did you take a beginner class? If you’re in a fast moving class and aren’t familiar with the instruction, that’s when you get hurt.

  2. Pingback: Thirty Before 30 Update: Numbers 17, 27 & 30 « Theresa Budnik Combs

  3. Pingback: On Sundays, I Write Letters « Theresa Budnik Combs

Leave a Reply

