Books Read in 2012

Okay, so some of the books “read” last year were actually listened to. What else am I to do during my hour-long drive home from work?  (I can’t listen to books in the morning. Instead, I keep myself awake by flipping through mediocre radio stations.) I read a total of 27 books. I don’t know how many books y’all read, but I’m not writing this to compare numbers. Instead, I just want to share the highlights–make some recommendations, if you will. Not all 27 were noteworthy, but if you want to see them all, head over to my Pinterest board: 2012 Books Read. If you just want the highlights, stay right here.

In no particular order, here we go:

Lost and Found: Unexpected Revelations About Food and Money by Geneen Roth
Lost and Found: Unexpected Revelations About Food and Money by Geneen Roth

This book is about money, but it’s not about what you should invest in, how much you should save or how to pay off debt. Instead it’s about how we express our emotions with money. She makes the connection between food and money. We’re probably all guilty of emotional eating and spending, but she takes a deeper look. If you’re tired of reading the financial how-to books, this is a good one to read to get a different perspective. Things of note, she lost her nest egg to Bernie Madoff and is an incredible reader (I listened to this one).

This Is a Book by Demetri Martin
This Is a Book by Demetri Martin

Need a laugh? Look no further. Follow him on Twitter and you won’t be disappointed.

The Method Method: Seven Obsessions That Helped Our Scrappy Start-up Turn an Industry Upside Down by Eric Ryan and Adam Lowry
The Method Method: Seven Obsessions That Helped Our Scrappy Start-up Turn an Industry Upside Down by Eric Ryan and Adam Lowry

If you just liked Method products before, you’ll love ’em after reading this. The company’s approach to greening the world is so much more palatable than the ways of hardcore environmentalists and organizations. I drank the Method kool-aid and drink it regularly now.

The Responsible Company by Yvon Chouinard and Vincent Stanley
The Responsible Company by Yvon Chouinard and Vincent Stanley

As long as I’m talking green, I’ll mention this one. This is geared more towards companies and those who work in a corporate culture for a living, but I think it’s important for your average person to read. We need to know what practices we’re supporting (and whose salary we’re paying) when we buy stuff. It’s a pretty quick read, too, so why not?

I Suck at Girls by Justin Halpern
I Suck at Girls by Justin Halpern

Remember how funny Sh*t My Dad Says was? This is the follow up book and while I was worried at the beginning, Justin Halpern successfully separates himself from the hilarity of his dad and proves that his voice is his own and hilarious. Two things: I listened to this one and the audio book is decently read and this is completely a guy book. Ladies, you’ve been forewarned.

The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels--a Love Story by Ree Drummond
The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels–a Love Story by Ree Drummond

If you read Ree Drummond’s blog, you’ll enjoy her memoir of how she and Marlboro Man fell in love. I read it in 3 days on my iPhone (huzzah for ebooks!) mostly because it’s an easy, fun read. Pick it up if you’re in need of a break from the heavy-duty stuff.

What did y’all read in 2012 that I should read in 2013? I’m currently taking suggestions!

One thought on “Books Read in 2012

  1. Pingback: Thirty Before 30 Update: Number 19 « Theresa Budnik Combs

Leave a Reply

