Gratitude

Journals on my night stand.

Let me get a little Oprah here, because I believe her to be the originator of the gratitude journal–or at least she gave it popularity. 2011 wasn’t the most spectacular year for me. But, it was amongst all of my woeful thoughts that I realized I was failing to see all the good in my life–ahem–a new husband, job and house. And those aren’t just material things, those things allow me to live the lifestyle I desire. So, to shape up my mental funk, I started a gratitude journal on November 17th, 2011

I only write a list of 3-4 things, not giving too much detail. Some days, my mind is cloudy and I just don’t feel like being grateful or my day is so busy, I forget to write. But, most days I sit down for a minute or two right before heading to bed. The best thing about this journal is that it provides little snapshots of details of my life that I perhaps wouldn’t have remembered otherwise. Further, I have started to think of this journal as a “do more of this” list. If I enjoyed something one day, I should enjoy it the next.

Flipping back, here are some things I was and still am grateful for:

-a good jog (this is a staple throughout the journal)

-a crappy run is better than no run (also a common entry)

-good conversations

-writing and it feeling good

-4pm showing up like nothing

-my husband’s tax metaphors (I don’t even know what this is about, but I’m sure it was something hilarious he said)

-Friday! (another staple–if only I could figure out how to incorporate more Fridays into my life)

-Baking! Baking! Baking!

-Sunshine

-first chili of the season

-emailing my sisters

-talking to my parents

-my husband

-watering the garden

-listening to the Universe (once again, I can’t remember what this was about, but I’m sure it was good!)

-productive evening

Lesson learned? I need to keep these things at the top of my to-do list: spend time with my husband, bake, get outside, cook, stay connected with family, plant another garden and get my chores done.

From November 18th thru the 24th, I will be posting daily thanks-giving on Twitter to celebrate the holiday. Follow me @tbudco and share the thanks you’re giving this year.

Leave a Reply

